Things

This past week has been crazy. Actually, no, that’s a lie, my whole life has been crazy…but especially the past week and a half or so.

ANYWAYS! Here’s some things that have made me happy over the last little bit (hopefully they make you happy as well)!

First off: AWESOMENESS! My latest article over at SciFi4Me focused on why being a geek is awesome.

Okay, so it’s not a dragon riding a unicorn awesomeness, but it’s darn awesome. The only thing that would make it more awesome? If Felicia Day or Wil Wheaton shared it. That would be super epic awesomeness. And my LIFE would be made…could you imagine? (Confession: an invitation to Tabletop is one of my not-so-secret ultimate dreams.)

Then there was something that came across my Facebook feed:

I have no idea who the photographer is or who these kids belong to, but OMG this is ADORABLE.

 I also, after a bit of an issue with UPS, got my late birthday presents from ThinkGeek! The boyfriend did amazingly. I don’t have actual pictures of my stuff, but I’ll just link to the ThinkGeek page so you can buy your own! 🙂 

Collapsible Chopsticks!: I’ll never have to suffer through a lunch of Thai food with a plastic fork again! And I don’t have to worry about waste or splinters in my hand with the disposable kind. They’re awesome, and they’re sitting in my purse right now. 

Nananananananana…BAT ICE! (Batman Ice Cube Tray): Anyone who knows me knows it’s no secret that I love silicone ice cube trays. I’m addicted to the science of different ice cube shapes and I love the little editions for geeking up my cocktails. So far I’ve got Han Solo in Carbonite, stars, skulls, and now Batsignals! 

Crit! (d20 Spiral Necklace): While the boyfriend was bummed I didn’t get a purple one, I loved my green die…it rolled 2 natural 20s within 5 rolls…waaaay better percentage than my usual (unless I’m playing Avice, she’s a badass with an axe…well, two axes). Oh! And I can change them out to match my outfit! Talk about geek chic! 

Shiny! Dragon Ear Wrap: I love ear stuffs, and I’ve always loved dragons. He was nervous about me liking this one, but I love-love-LOVED it. And it’s preeeettttyyy. 

So, other odd things that made me happy… I’m TWO EPISODES away from finishing Buffy the Vampire Slayer…FINALLY! 

I get to wear jeans to work today and tomorrow! 

I’ve had both Sushi and Stoner Pizza in the past week! (Stoner Pizza is my nickname for an awesome pizza joint, no pun intended, here in town that is open til 4am on the weekend and offers literally anything on a pizza. Mine was artichoke and garlic with alfredo sauce. Mmmmmmmmm.) 

My tomato and pepper on the plants are turning red…FINALLY! 

There was a clue in today’s crossword in the paper… “____ Trek.” 

There was a clue in Tuesday’s paper “Edward James _____.” 

Speaking of Edward James Olmos…

 

 Totally the best part of Planet Comicon! (There are three parts, this is just the last of the videos with the most epic of endings…EJO ends it on HIS terms.) SO SAY WE ALL! Also, there’s a whole host of awesomeness of everything from the Buck Rogers Panel to the Xmen Panel over on the SciFi4Me Youtube, so you should check it out

So, now the flipside of the coin…there’s some things that didn’t make me happy this week. As a matter of fact, there were some things that totally bummed me out. 

For one, my dear little Amoretta had a panic attack yesterday (or, rather, several panic attacks). I had to take her to the vet this morning because they manifested as breathing problems which had the boyfriend and I basically restless and sleepless. I’m just glad she wasn’t sick. 

In addition, I’ve lost my faith in UPS. Here I was hating FedEx for the number of times I’ve been almost run off the road and/or backed into and preferring the good ol’ brown trucks…and now I’m planning on shipping solely through USPS from now on. The US Postal Service may not be the cheapest option, but at least my packages won’t look like…

Something was said, by Blondie, that made me realize that there is an actual generation gap between teenagers (even those over the age 0f 18) and me. To set it up, we were watching Charmed and we’re to where Rose McGowan has joined the show as Paige. We were talking about the appearance of the various tattoos on the sisters as the show has progressed and I teased “Well, of course Rose McGowan has tattoos, she’s a bit of a bad girl anyways. After all, she dated Marilyn Manson.” The response? 

“I didn’t know she was a lesbian.” 

… 

/facepalm 

Tuesday night stunk, too. Actually, it was a pretty awesome night starting out. Blondie and I were hanging out, Amoretta was being a good girl, and I was prepping for a mid-week day off for the holiday. Then a local fast food place had to ruin it. Nope, it wasn’t food poisoning, it was poison in general. 

For those of you that don’t know, aspartame is a neurotoxin. If you’re not sure what aspartame is, you might look at the back of that package of artificial sweetener. Artificial sweeteners have a very dirty laundry list of deadly and disabling side effects, effects that are especially potent for people who are allergic to the chemicals. Yup, yup. I’m allergic to aspartame. One sip of light lemonade (that was supposed to be regular) turned into a night of holding back vomit and attempting to sleep of a migraine and drowsiness. I’m not going to mention which fast food place made the slip up because the manager was super nice in resolving the issue, but I’ll just say…be super careful with what you put in your body. I know there’s a whole host of chemicals out in the food industry, and I’m not going to rant about those, just know what those “diet” sodas are really doing to you.  

Oh, so, for those of you not in the know, tomorrow will be my 100th post over at SciFi4Me as well as my 1 year anniversary of The Geekly with a Twist. There’s going to be a fun BIG GIVEAWAY announcement, so you need to check it out tomorrow!

About Annaleigh Josephs, CSS

Annaleigh Josephs, aka The Lush...Certified or AJ the Lush, is a writer from the suburbs of Kansas City. An equal opportunity lush, she loves wine, beer AND liquor...but currently only holds certifications for wine and liquor. She also is a Browncoat with a love for all things scifi and fantasy. She currently works a straight job in the financial industry (after a major career change), writes for SciFi4Me.com, spends her "spare time" with the Kansas City Independent Filmmaker's Coalition, and is working on several different personal projects (including two novels, a short story series, and a script).

Posted on 5 July 2012, in Awesome Sauce, Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Any thoughts? Comments?

