2012: A Belated Reflection

First, I start off with an apology. I’m probably the worst person with consistency in anything, unless I have deadlines. This is a pure confession, but I can offer nothing more.

Now, I’ve been finding myself wanting to reflect about the past year over the past few weeks, but one of the things you shouldn’t do to yourself when you’re sick is make your brain work. While I’m not to 100% capacity, I can’t find myself stalling any longer.

2012 was a good year. No, I didn’t make my first million yet and much of the stress still carries to 2013, but it was a good year.

I got rid of a terrible roommate and got an amazing one. (Blondie is probably the best roommate a girl could ask for, even when we butt heads.)

I lost my Con Virginity and I loved it.

I travelled to Barsoom (okay, Utah), and experienced things I never expected (like duck bacon! and hiking paths of arches forged by Mother Nature).

I made wonderful new friends, experienced both new life and new paths with old, and met my best friend in the world (she’s short and furry).

I made goals and achieved them (or didn’t) and found more of myself in my daily life than I imagined.

I listened to the voices and wrote my heart out.

Going into the meat of 2013, I have this to say: I hope it may be as good of a year, if not better of one, than 2012. That’s a pretty high bar to set, but I’m up for the challenge.

Specifically, I’d like to stop slacking on here so much. With writing, just as with anything else in this world, practice generates improvement. While there is not true “perfection” in my eyes, there is always room for improvement. I’ve lived with that philosophy since I was young and I’m not going to change now.

I’d also like to get a few other works finished up. There’s a sequel to “Fervor” in my mind and I have a few NaNoWriMo word vomits to clean up. Hockey season is also picking back up (thank goodness!), so it’s not quite as distressing to be writing about the sport.

So, there’s work to be done. And I may just be the person to do it.

Here’s to 2013.

About Annaleigh Josephs, CSS

Annaleigh Josephs, aka The Lush...Certified or AJ the Lush, is a writer from the suburbs of Kansas City. An equal opportunity lush, she loves wine, beer AND liquor...but currently only holds certifications for wine and liquor. She also is a Browncoat with a love for all things scifi and fantasy. She currently works a straight job in the financial industry (after a major career change), writes for SciFi4Me.com, spends her "spare time" with the Kansas City Independent Filmmaker's Coalition, and is working on several different personal projects (including two novels, a short story series, and a script).

Posted on 19 January 2013, in Rants, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Any thoughts? Comments?

